Cheryl Timm and Jodi Borchers, Pierce Educators, Alissa Hoffman and Kristen Albrecht, students
  • SWAT Team (Students Working to Advance Technology)
    • Surveyed 7-12 Pierce HS Students on how they use technology
    • Preparing Grade 7 students and new students with creating technology orientation
    • Mission Statement, Timeline, Identifying Tasks, Roles, Survey Questions, Survey Results
    • Challenges: time
    • Public Relations - promotions, posters, video
    • SWAT team selected, meetings being scheduled (1-2 times per month); 10 students on team
    • setting SWAT team hours after school to assist students and teachers with technology

Greg Conn, Wausa, Gavin Friedrich, student
  • Promoting Downtown Wausa
    • Interviewing downtown businesses, video clips, draw businesses to Wausa
    • Creating a commercial
    • Run on local cable tv channel
      • "Why did you start your business in Wausa?"
      • "What do you enjoy most about your business?"
      • "Is it easy to run a business in a small town?"
      • "What is the age range of your employees?"
      • "What are the benefits of running a family business?"

Mandy Hochstein, Hartington, Courtney Hochstein, student

Jane Dexter, Chambers
  • project in process
    • brainstorm with students: how teachers can use iPads in the classroom, finding time for teachers to figure out how to use iPads, finding apps for Business
    • school iPad initiative began with JH students

John Dohrman, Rock County, Tabitha Belmont, student
  • Getting more students involved in Fine Arts programs
    • decline of student involvement
    • What can be done to gain interest
    • Why is there lack of interest
    • Benefit of Fine Arts
    • Surveys
      • Student surveys - ag, computers, art, choir rotate each quarter (JH)
        • are you involved, if so, which,
        • are you interested
        • what can be done to increase involvement
          • scheduling
          • dedicated
          • not interested, not enough time
          • type of music
      • Teacher
        • were you involved in fine arts in hs
        • what challenges do you feel students are up against
        • what are benefits of FA
        • what limits student participation in FA
        • why is there lack of participation
        • what can be done to increase interest/involvement
        • are students in FA more successful
      • Survey results will be shared with administration

Tim Nollette, Cody-Kilgore, Hannah Jones, student
  • Agricultural Awareness
    • fighting negative media regarding agriculture
    • 40% of jobs in Nebraska are agriculturally-related
    • A-FAN Initiative: all agricultural commodity interest groups working together instead of opposing each other
    • create videos that support ag literacy (eggs don't come from cows, even though eggs are next to milk in the grocery store)
    • using iMovie to create educational video clips

Ronita Jacobsen, Plainview


Mary Sterkel, Plainview



Jodi Borchers jBorcher@esu8.org Pierce Ag
Gregg Conn grconn@esu1.org Wausa Counselor
Jane Dexter jmdexter@esu8.org Chambers Business
John Dohrman jdohrman@esu17.org Rock County School Counselor
MIchelle Galles mgalles@esu1.org Randolph FCS
Mandy Hochstein mahochst@esu1.org Hartington Business
Ronita Jacobsen rjacobse@esu8.org Plainview FCS
Tim Nollette nollette@esu17.org Cody-Kilgore Ag
Julie Rowse jrowse@esu8.org Elkhorn Valley FCS
Amy Selting aselting@esu8.org Elgin Business
Mary Sterkel sterkelm@esu8.org Plainview Business
Cheryl Timm ctimm@esu8.org Pierce FCS